School teachers have found that this year more and more students copy homework

from others, which one of the following choices is the best way to reduce this

phenomenon?

1. parents should supervise their children's study and homework and sign their names

to prove that their children do not cheat.

2. teachers should punish those children who copy homework from others.

3. teachers should assign homework that cannot be easily copied.

One of the hardest situations that teachers must deal with appropriately is cheating by students, e.g. copying homework. There are many ways to reduce this phenomenon, but as far as I’m concerned, the best way is that teachers should punish those children who copy homework from others. I’m holding this opinion for two main reasons, which are feeling embraced and losing rewards.

To begin with, children usually won’t do any bad attitude that may expose them to the public and be being noticed by everybody because they have a sensitive feeling. If children become aware that cheating could cause them to be exposed on the public as a punishment they won’t try it again, because they may feel embrace in front their friends. This exactly what happened with my youngest brother when his math teacher found out that he copied his friend’s work. The teacher told all the students if someone cheated again he/she will have to appear on the front if the class and stand for a ten minute as a punishment to be known by the others he/she did a bad behavior. My brother got scared and told me that would be so embraced if he got the punishment; thus, he decided not to copy homework again. Accordingly, children will try to avoid punishment, especially if it caused them to feel awkward ahead of their friends.

More importantly, when children recognize that cheating may cost them to lose grades as a punishment and eventually not succeed in their subjects, they will understand that there will be no rewards from their family; this due to their failure in school. My friend’s brother is a compelling example of this. He had been caught in class copying homework one of his classmates and failed the subject at his final certificate. His family did not reward him or made a celebration as they usually did, and he became sad and regret his action. Nevertheless, now he understands if he cheated again it might cost him the rewards as well as the party; thus, the child will avoid cheating.

All in all, with posing many options to solve the cheating problem with children, I think the most preferable way is having them punished. I hold this opinion because children will loss rewarding and feel embarrassed by doing this attitude, which considers important reasons for children to avoid having the punishment.