TPO 24 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Guidance from parents is important part of our lives. It is vital because young adults will be guided and molded to become a better person. Some people believe that parents can prepare their children in adulthood by motivating them to take a part time job. In my humble opinion, I think it is beneficial that at young age they are exposed in a part time job. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, involvement of children with a job can help them become more responsible individuals. Also, they will know how to handle their finances, such as paying some of their bills. For instance, my brother Mark is working on a pizza company, he was on his 1st year college. He did not need extra income but he told me that he wants to be independent and know how does it feel to earn an income. Mark learned valuable lessons in life that in every penny spend, needs carefully thinking whether spending the money with non important things is really needed in one's life. As a result, my brother become more thrifty and saves a lot because he learned the difficulty of earning money.

Secondly, teenagers getting part time job at young age can also have positive effect on their well being. Some people after their end of their summer job become more matured individual because they will get a real sense of what life really is and how hard is it to earn a living to buy essential things in life, so they know the value of money. For example, my cousin Rita does tutoring job at their school and help students who are having difficulties in subjects. She realized the importance of education that every good opportunity comes from finishing your studies in college. At that point, she wants to reach out to other students and teach as many pupils she can handle because she knows that you can be successful in life when you have a college degree. Rita uses her knowledge to help other people and make sure that everybody will be given a shot in their studies.

To summarize, I believe it is essential to be involved in summer job or part time job at a young age. This is because you will learn many life lessons and become responsible person in terms of finances.