TPO-24 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.Use specific reasons and examples

The main duty of parents is to prepare their children to become the responsible adult in the future. Even though there are some arguments on whether parents encourage their child to do a part-time job or not, I believe it is better to try such a job before turning adult. I will explore the reasons for the following essay.

To begin with, doing a part-time job will provide an opportunity to know what a child really wants to do in the future. The part-time job is the first step in choosing a suitable and engaging major for the child. It also helps to avoid wasting time to study in a field that is not fit for them. For example, one of my relative sisters loves coding and majoring in computer science. However, after she graduated, the atmosphere of the work did not appeal her at all. Even though how much she loves doing it, she could not work effectively without any communication with others in a work. If she had tried this job before chose her major, she would not have wasted a much time.

Another reason is, children will be more independent if they try a part-time job. Moreover, it will give a broad range of knowledge about how to spend the money they earn efficiently. Because they know how hard to get it, they will probably do not want to waste it on trivial things. Also, children learn about to solve problems associated with money by themselves which is one of the vital characteristics of the successful adult. The experience of a part-time job will obviously help the children to be the one who is useful for the society.

All in all, most parents agree with the pros of doing a part-time job outweigh the cons of it which will give a right path for their children in the future.