TPO-24:Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the main dilemmas parents are faced when their children turn to their teen years is how they can best prepare them for adulthood; showing them the ups and downs of life, teaching them responsibility and the ability to make great decisions. One of the many avenues proposed to prepare teenagers for adult life is for them to take on part-time job. Although many might disagree with this approach, arguing that such method might interfere with their education and distract them from school or cause them to become isolated from their family in a young and critical age, I think enrolling in a partial job might benefit them in many ways. Some of the key benefits I think might come from a part time job for teenaged children are mentioned below.

Up to adolescence, most children are quite pampered with very few responsibilities, receiving much attention and focus from their parents who tend to all their needs. Upon entering the teenaged years, these children will feel the need to become more independent and detached from their families, but some might do so in ways that could lead to self-harm. Taking on a part-time job, will give teenagers the independence they crave, but in a healthy and controlled environment. With their need for independence met, they will have less motivation, and less time, to get indulged in drugs and other activities that could be of hazard to them and their surroundings. Also, in a healthy and promoting work environment, they can become more motivated to strive for a better future and learn their interests, desires and potentials. Hence, this early sense of independence could lead to more motivation to endeavor in school and work towards a better future and lessen their tendency towards drugs and other threatening activities, helping them evolve into successful adults.

Also, taking on a partial job will teach them many of the values needed in adulthood; values that have much deeper impact when absorbed through personal experience. The value of money is one of these merits. Children tend to be ignorant of the hard work and time which is needed to make each dollar. Having to designate hours, which could be used for rest, hanging out with friends or other leisure activities, on a job in order to be paid will familiarize them with the value of money and teach them how to manage and spend the money they make. Another principal that can be learned through an adolescent job experience, is the value of time. Upon embarking on a job, teens will realize they have many free hours in a day which they can put to great use. They will learn punctuality, how to manage their hours in a way so they can tend to their school, work, family and friends, and how to make use of their free time so they can become prosperous adults.

In general, I believe much benefit can derive from partial jobs for adolescents, putting them on the right track to a successful adulthood. Although, there are many disadvantages, I think the lessons which can be learned such as the value of money and time, and the motivation which can be triggered by enrolling in a partial job is much greater.