TPO 29-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Some people believe that students are the only effective factor in determining universities ranking. Accordingly, universities should invest in their students. However, others think that university’s professors are an essential factor that has an effect on university’s scientific prestige. Appropriately, a university will see its investigation on increasing professor salary in it academic output. I completely agree with latter group opinion that increasing professors’ salary has an advantage to academic improvement.

Increasing salary enhances professors’ eagerness to teach better. In fact, well-paying job increases professors’ tendency to keep their jobs which lead them to do their best in teaching. Accordingly, academic quality will take advantage of this rising salary which has benefit for the university. As we know, competition for getting a well-paying job is intensive, so a professor knows that if the quality of his teaching does not satisfy the university, many people outside of the university are waiting to show to the university that they are better in teaching than him. Consequently, he will take his job more seriously that has an effect on quality of education.

Adding professors’ salary has an advantage on professors’ soul health. Indeed, financial problem puts one’s soul health in danger, since it increases pressure and stress that have negative impacts on soul health. Let’s assume a professor with financial stress, does not it affect his teaching? Does not it affect his concentration on his job? As we can predict these questions' answer, financial difficulties have disadvantage on teaching quality and reduce its quality. Accordingly, if a university pays appropriate salary to the professors, it will reduce the chance facing the professors with financial difficulties, so the university will help the professor in his soul health. Soul health has an effect on concentration and performance. Therefore, reducing the chance of facing the financial difficulty of the professors has an advantage on the university academic output.

To put it into a nutshell, I completely agree that rising professors’ salary has an effect on the university quality of education. It increases professors’ tendency to teach better to keep their job. Moreover, it helps to protect professors’’ soul health which affects the quality of teaching. In my opinion, universities should also find another way to encourage professors to increase their performance.