TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, general awareness about whether it is wise to spend money on salaries university professors has aroused heated arguments. People, nevertheless, have conflicting ideas; while some people say that investing in professors is not a wise choice, others deem otherwise. From my own point of view, I am in agreement with the former stand.

To begin with, spending more on professor's salaries means that students have to pay increased school expenses. Especially, due to the recent economic crisis and high unemployment rate, both students and parents find it hard to afford their tuition fees. Students depend on students loans and even private loans which becomes a huge burden after graduation. Also, in order to manage their budget, students have to participate more in part-time jobs or might even have to leave in absence to prepare for their school expenses. This will definitely disturb student's studying. In retrospect, during my second year of university, the tuition fees suddenly increased. Because my parents were not in the situation to help me afford those increased expenses, I had to work in a part time job until late in the night which prevented my from studying. As a result, I got bad grades in the exams. Additionally, the increase of tuition fees will bring many oppositions among the students. For example, in my university, many students are participating in demonstrations in order to lower tuition fees. Often, they express violent behavior or have a radical debate with university executives. If universities spend more on their faculties, some will understand the benefits it brings and the increase in tuition fees. However, not all students could afford such high expenses. But look at numerous cases around us who give up their studies, juggle with their work and studies because of money and sometimes get private loans. Therefore, universities should not increase the professor's salaries since it will cause the increase in tuition.

Also, spending more money on increasing professors salaries and hiring more faculty does not essentially lead to high-quality education. In order to advance the quality of education, what is more important than hiring excellent faculty is to foster an environment that students could concentrate on their studies. In my case, I think professors influence in student's study in universities. University education is completely different from high school education. Students does not passively receive information but rather have to actively explore and understand the knowledge given. Lessons are just a single source of receiving information in universities since they only passed on limited information from books and other resources. Whether a professor is capable or not is decided by whether he could make students study. Therefore, to improve the quality of studies it is advisable to rather invest on other facilities such as libraries, labs and study rooms.