TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the advent of technology provides an environment that is harder for young students to flourish in. In order to one become beneficial for society, he has to gain a lot of knowledge and be expert in a specific field. To be more specific, we have to provide a more qualified educational system in which students can achieve a lot of knowledge. In this regard, there is a controversy amongst people that to improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on university professors' salaries. I am personally in favor of this approach. I cling to my viewpoint for two reasons and will illustrate them in the following.

The first facet to be mentioned is when a professor is supported with the salary that comes from the university, he can afford his family and his own needs, therefore, his mind is calm and he can concentrate on his duty which is to teach students efficiently. In other words, when one is relief from the pressure of living cost, he becomes a more efficient person for the society due to the fact that his mind is not occupied with personal problems. To clarify my point, let me take myself as an example, when I was twenty, I taught English in a class but the payment was too low. I could not afford my living cost so I had to get a second job to cover my costs. As a result, I was not concentrated on my teaching process because I was tired whenever I was in my class. On the other hand, when I was twenty-five, I had a job as a TA in university, they paid me well in a way that I could cover all my costs, therefore, I did not get a second job and I was concentrated fully on my TA duties.

Apart from the point mentioned above, when one is paid a great amount of salary, he is willing to engage more in his duties. To be more clear, when someone is paid well, he takes the job more seriously and tries to be as beneficial as he can because he admires that opportunity that he has been given. To clarify my point, take a university professor as an example, suppose that he is paid well, he takes the class as his number one duty and makes a lot of effort to be more engaged in his responsibilities as a professor. In contradicts to this remark, assume a professor who gets a low salary, he is not willing to do his best in the classroom due to the fact that he believes he deserves more so in order to show his protest, he does not engage in the class activities.

All in all, according to the foregoing points and examples, I believe that an improvement in the university professors' salaries is a vital step toward an improvement in the quality of education. Nevertheless, there may be opposing perspectives that it is not the controversial issue in the way of high-quality education but from the standpoint of having more beneficial professors, I believe this approach is inevitable.