TPO 3 Independent Writing Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is no doubt about the benefits of having friends in our life. Friendship make our lives energetic and vigorous. Some people believe that maintaining old friends is more important than making a new one. Others think that new friend has more advantages and benefits. So, it raises a controversial question whether keeping old friendships are as important as making a new one or not. In my perspective, I strongly believe that trying to make new friends has much more importance. In what follows, I will pinpoint the two most prominent rationals to elaborate my standpoint.

First of all, people usually move around due to changing their jobs. There are lots of unpredictable circumstances which obligates people to alter their hometown inevitably. As a result, it is highly apt that we become distant from our old friends gradually over time. Although we can remain in touch with them through the cellphone, email and even video chat, but it is not satisfactory and enough.

My own experience is a great example of this. Five months ago, when I moved to USA, I left behind my family, friends, language, culture and everything. Hence, I was forced to find new friends to spend time with. Making new friends really helped me to get through the difficulties of immigration.

Secondly, as we grow up, our thoughts, beliefs and emotions are changed. We can establish a new friendship based on our personal characteristics. Old friends might not understand us since we have lost common beliefs and interests. Friendships are supposed to boost our energy and help us feel better. Spending time with someone who has the same interests and hobbies could motivate us to live better. I used to have a friend who was not interested in going to the museum as I was not either in the past. When I went to the university my interest changed because I passed some courses related to history. I really enjoy going to the museum and seeing the historical items. I could not persuade my old friend to accompany me, so I decided to make a new friend from my history class.

Based on what is discussed, I personally believe that making new friends is more advantageous since we might become distant from our old friends. Also, our interests are altered over time which leads to lose our common interests with our old friends.