In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

There is no doubt about the importance of transportation nowadays. Some people believe that there will be a lot of cars in the streets, while others think the number of the cars will be decreased gradually. In my perspective, I predict fewer people will use their own cars in the future. In what follows, I will pinpoint the two most prominent rationals to elaborate this.

First of all, with advancement of technology, the need for being physically present at work will be depleted. Most of the employees will prefer to work from home, since they can have online meetings with their colleagues. Although the performance of the employees might be less, many companies will take this risk to decrease costs overall. As a result, using the cars will be much less over time. One month ago, I encountered an article which was about the relationship between working from home and employee satisfaction. The article concluded that most of the employees tend to prefer working while staying at home. Hence, the number of cars will be reduced.

Secondly, due to global warming, people will be forced to use fewer personal cars. As everybody knows, cars produce lots of air pollution. I strongly believe that people will take their responsibility to fight against climate changes more seriously. One of the deeds people will do is use public transportation and even carpool their cars with each other. In comparison, people use fewer cars than the past. So, we can safely predict that they will use fewer cars in the future.

Based on what is discussed, I strongly believe that there will be fewer cars in twenty years. It is mainly because with the advancement of technology, people will be able to work from home. Also, the situation of global warming will deteriorate and people will be obligated to use fewer cars.