Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When teachers assign projects on which students must work together the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects Use spe

There is no shortage of opinion on whether or not working in a group helps students learn more effectively or not. In my opinion, I think students learn much more effectively when are asked to work alone than in a team. I have two reasons for my opinion which I will describe in the following essay.

Firstly, when students work in a team, some team members tend to work less on the group project, due to the lack of obligation. While the burden falls on the other members, the students who do not contribute equally lose the chance to learn as well. My personal experience is a great example of this. When I was an undergraduate student, we had the option of working in teams or alone for our programming project. I decided to work alone, and since I had to resolve all the issues I faced by myself, I learned a lot more than my friends who worked as a group.

Secondly, projects defined to be done in a group tend to be more complicated, requiring more effort to finish. While if the projects were meant to be done alone, the professor would generate a far easier problem. I think that defining easier projects which can be done by each student, are far more effective in teaching the skills necessary than defining a large project which needs to be done as a group. I remember back in high school, our Math teacher asked us to work in groups of four for our project. It was a very difficult project and each of us learned very little from the project. While our Science teacher defined a smaller project, which we had to alone. We ended up learning a lot more in that project.

To conclude my essay, I think working alone makes students learn more effectively. I think this is because they are forced to resolve the challenges of the work at hand by themselves, without relying on anybody else.