TPO 30 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People show different attitudes towards how we work during the week While some argue that it is better to work only 3 days a week for longer hours, in my opinion, I give my vote to the idea that we should work eight hours a day and five days a week. There are three reasons supporting my view which will be explored in the below essay.

First and foremost, workers cannot maintain their focus or concentration for too many hours in a day. Consequently, the productivity is low when employees need to spend hours taking breaks. There have some researches asserting that working eight hours optimizes the creativity and productivity. My own experience is a compelling example. My previous company allowed flexible working time and I chose to work 13 hours a day on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays. At the beginning, I thought that I could finish my work with flying colors in three week days so that I could spend more time with my family. However, the outcome was seriously stricken as I felt too tired to work for thirteen hours without interruption. When I shifted back to normal working schedule of 8 hours a day, my productivity returned to normal as usual.

Secondly, it is detrimental to workers´ mental and physical health when they work for too many hours consecutively. Their brain will be exhausted which can cause cognitive impairment in the long term. Besides, it is also harmful to eyes with extensive exposure to computer monitor not to mention severe issues to employees´backbone under continuous sitting.

Last but not least, it is a waste of time and bored when people have four days without working. Many hours of those days are usually spent on oversleeping or watching television or playing video games which are also bad for health. Moreover, humans seem to spend more money on shopping when they have free time which means that they save less for their future.

In conclusion, my view is that the disadvantages of working three days a week for long hours outweigh its advantages. As a result, we should follow the established working standard of five days a week for 8 hours a day.