TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

In the wake of our hectic lifestyle nowadays working hours and miscellaneous circumstances proceeding from them are of paramount importance. A question that might arise, with respect to this fact, is whether an increase in working hours and subsequently a decrease in the working days is desirable. As it is a moot point, there might not be a general agreement on this topic; however, personally, I rest on the belief that working for shorter hours a day and more days a week is more propitious. In the following, two convincing reasons are put forth to delineate my personal perspective.

One of the most, if not the only, convincing reasons is that after a certain duration working is no longer efficient and it hampers even the most diligent of people. Broadly speaking, working for excessive hours results in counterproductive activities. To elucidate more, our body has a limited capacity for doing a task and when this limit is reached it is better to stop forcing ourselves to push forward because resting in this stage can alleviate our brain and prepare us for further tasks in the future. To shed more light on this issue, one can refer to the results of some studies corroborating governments which determine less hours of work in their offices are the ones with higher level of productivity and it has been proven that lower but more efficient working hours are paving the way toward more accomplishments.

It cannot also go unnoticed that the more days one works the higher level of satisfaction he feels. Generally stated, people, in their intrinsic nature, feel the need to be useful and advantageous to their society and try to fulfill this need by working. To delineate it, if one only works 3 days a week it may result in more recreational activities but the long term effect of such a lifestyle would be depression and a decrease in the level of self-satisfaction especially in these days that we are more on our own and our life undergoes a paradigm shift compared to two decades ago when people interacted more with each other. However, there might be some exceptions and some people may find more hours a day more interesting or even efficient since they would be able to save the amount of time they spend in commuting.

In the light of the reasons explained, I think it is more efficient to work 3 days for longer hours than to work for 5days and shorter hours not only because of the level of efficiency one can perform at, but also because the intrinsic need to work within people. That is why it is strongly recommended that people keep up with the working hours as they are today and consider that reducing working days to just three days might affect their lives in the way they cannot imagine.