tpo 32. Are people less happy than they were in the past?

Without no doubt, people are the corner stone of any successful society. In this regard, one’s mental health enjoys a vital role in bringing about prosperous in any community. With this in mind, there are different viewpoints about the level of happiness in the past in comparison to that of the present time. While some believe that it stands in reason that people are happier today, others hold the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the first point carries the more weight for several reasons, three substantial of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The most compelling reason is that nowadays, our lifestyle has been affected by galloping rate of technological arrival offering more convenience life, which enhances happiness--or, to put in in another way, the more individuals life are comfortable, the more they are happier. The invention of computers has people a chance not only to get rid of some types of boring things, but also to accelerate their work. For instance, when I was in high school, I worked part-time in a library, whenever I wanted to type an official letter, I was required to push the bottoms of an old-fashion typing machine by my fingers, which was time consuming and boring, the invention of computers made my work much faster and easier.

Another reason of why I do not concur with the first perspective in the introductory paragraph, lies in the fact that in today's modern world, along with other changes, the knowledge has widely developed in every aspects, which has led to considerable progressing in medical field. Many diseases which are seemed to be highly difficult to deal with in the past such as depression, are now curable and easy to heal. Easy access to the state-of-the-art hospitals and skilled doctors makes people less worry about diseases that increases the level of happiness.

Last but not least, it is crystal clear that educational has a pivotal role in preparing one for future, and eagerness to learn new things is inherent in all of human beings. In the past, educational system was poor, and had no attention to children's need. There was not skillful teachers and no proper educational system in which children could complete their educations and pursue their interests. Consequently, most of individuals could not be ones they liked, they did not mostly like their careers, which caused dissatisfaction. On the other hand, nowadays, children can study in the well-equipped schools and under efficient educational system, which assist them to continue their education in an appropriate manner, giving them an opportunity to seek their fortunes, which is the key factor for happiness and well-being.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all of the aforementioned ingredients discussed above, I do believe that nowadays, individuals are happier on the grounds that they enjoy more convenient life, thanks to technological development and knowledge advancement, and more effective educational system.