tpo45

Life is a burdensome path full of ups and downs, and human beings encounter with many problems, which necessitate certain crucial decisions. With this in mind, some believe that nowadays, young people are less dependent to their parents in order to make decisions about their own lives in comparison to the past, while others hold the opposite view. I, personally, subscribe to the first attitude based on quite a few reasons, three of the most substantial of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The most compelling reason is that the 20th and 21st are considered as the knowledge and technology era, and our lifestyle, as it is commonly perceived, has been affected by the galloping rate of technology development offering a more convenient life. The Internet is one of the greatest incomes of technology advancement, which has brought mankind about a great amount of first-handed information. Therefore, the youth can have access to a lot of information only by a button. I clarify my point of view with a real story that happened to me. Four years ago, when I wanted to attend university, I had a difficulty to find a proper university. I just surfed the net, and collect numerous information about various colleges in my country, and then I managed to opt for the best one in the blink of an eye. If I wanted to consult with my parents, it took me a lot of time.

Another interpretation as to why I do not concur with the latter perspective in the introductory paragraph lies in the fact that it is statistically proven that the level of education in the past was lower than in the present time, since the educational system was poor in the past; however, people enjoy state-of-the-art educational equipment and more skill for teachers, which indicates that individuals nowadays, have a better understanding about issues than those in the past; hence, they can make better decisions about various issues. The more knowledgeable one is, the more successful he or she will be. As a result, the youth can make better decisions compare to their parents, and thus be more prosperous.

Last but not least, the youth have less commitment to traditions and customs because most of them consider traditions as an obstacle, which prevents them from development. So, the tradition that young people should consult with their parents in order to make decisions is obsoleted.

In summary, having considered all the aforementioned arguments discussed above, I firmly endorse my point of view that in today's world, young people have more freedom to make decision about their own lives compare to before on the grounds that not only are they more knowledgeable, thanks to better educational system, but also they have access to great amount of information due to technology advancement. Moreover, they do not have commitment to traditions, which make them to obey from their parents’ thoughts.