At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Without any shadow of doubt, people are the corner stone of any successful society; indeed, the more individuals of a country is qualified, the more the country is powerful. In this regard, education play a vital role in preparing ones for the future. Given the existing educational system, scheduling the budget of universities is one of the pivotal concerns of any university principal, for the budget allocated to universities is often limited, especially in my country. With this in mind, some believe that the budget of sports and social activities need to be as equal as classes and libraries, while others hold the opposite view. I personally subscribe with the first attitude for quite a few reason, three of the most important are discussed below.

The most crucial point is that students need to other activities besides studying, which influence students in an indispensable manner. In the universities, the purpose of which are studying, competition and jealousy make the atmosphere of the colleges intolerable. Allocating a specific time for sports and social activities not only make universities more intriguing, but also provide stimulation for students to study and hard work.

Another interpretation as to why I do not concur with the latter perspective in the introductory paragraph lies in the fact that a healthy nation is a wealthy nation. There a great deal of prescription regarding so as to be healthy such as diet, avoiding from stress and smoke, and physical and mental activities. It seems to me that physical activities has a pivotal role in being healthy. Unfortunately, nowadays, increasing popularity of computers, videos, and other state-of-the-art technologies make students more inactive and lonely in comparison to the past; as a result, they are more exposed to diseases. Getting access to the appropriate level of social activities and sports in the universities enhances student’s mental and physical health. There is a renowned persian proverb, the equivalent of it in the English may sound like this, “healthy body is a prerequisite for healthy mind", which is indicative of the importance of sports in the life of human beings.

Last but not least, sports and social activities develop sense of team-spirit and unity in students. For instance, when playing hockey or soccer, they learn how to play and work with team, which develops the sense of team-spirit, building the strong relationship with others.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all of the aforementioned ingredients discussed above, I do endorse my point of view that sports and social activities and classes and libraries should enjoy the same financial support on the grounds that sports and social activities develop the sense of friendliness and team-spirit in students, motivate them to be better in their studies, and enhance their mental and physical health.