TPO 32 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

When it comes to the issue that whether youth have influential roles in determining the future of the society or not, different people will adopt different attitudes on this issue. While some people believe that only political figures have this authority to decide about important issues, others oppose that and personally I am of the opinion that today, young people have influential role on the determinative decisions for the future of the society. I feel this way because of some reasons which I will explain in the following essay:

The first and foremost reason which should be mentioned is that, because of the importance of the education, nowadays most of the young people proceed higher education in universities. One of the main purposes of the universities is analyzing different political, social and environmental issues around the word and consequently, youth is aware and well informed about what is happening around the world. Further than, university is a place, where students can discuss about their opinion easily and in fact by participating in different discussion they can share their opinion and ideas with each other. All of these activities will cause the young students to feel responsible about their society and every thing goes with it. Because of this wide and analytical perspective, young people can react about important decisions which may affect their future and the can announce their opinions about such decisions in groups, and they will try hard that the government hear their voice. For example, when I was university student, the government decided to build a factory near a lake in our city and as we were aware of the harmful effects of the factory on the environment, we made campaign against their decisions, we gave different lectures about harmful consequences of building the factory in order to inform ordinary people and finally they reversed their decision.

The second reason which should be noted is that, because of the popularity of the social media among the young people, they can be informed shortly about everything around them, they can post their opinion about different issues in less than a minute and show other people that they concern about everything. For example, in the presidential election, we can see the powerful influence of young people in this regard by their posts and comments in social media.

To draw my conclusion according to aforementioned reasons, today young people have influential role on determinative decisions for the future of the society, because today youth are well educated and well informed and also because of the improved technology and advent of social media young can be informed about everything shortly and they can share their opinion and objections to be heard by government.