TPO-32 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It goes without saying that in this progressive world where we live, prosperity and failure of a society heavily relies on decision-making practices. While some people are of the opinion that young people are the pillars of a community and their decisions can drive the society to flourish, others assume that youngsters have no influence on those significant decisions that shed light on the future of the society. Personally speaking, I agree with this statement and the reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated on in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is no secret to anyone that young people are not experienced enough in order to make influential decisions which in turn would positively overshadow the future of society. In this line of thought, although the young generation is well-educated and has experienced the vicissitudes of life, their experience pales in comparison to the older generation. Undeniably, being naïve and the absence of experience in understanding how complicated life is, have led the young people to be marginalized. To put it into a more vivid picture, in 2004 Sam Smith, the eighty-year-old candidate won the presidential election with the majority of the poll against thirty-year-old Paul Timberlake. When the journalists asked people about their opinion and the reason they voted for the old candidate, most of them assume that the younger candidate, although seemed to be prospective, could not make important decisions since he has not experienced the ebbs and flows of life. If a person is equipped with a variety of experiences, the way he or she makes a decision can positively affect the future of society.

Furthermore, as we all know young people are not providential and they also live for the moment; in this vein, their decisions are confined to a special time period and cannot contribute to the future of the society. It is crystal clear that one of the salient characteristics of the young is that they are ambitious; however, aspiration does not guarantee the success of a society in future. As an illustration, the so-called scholars of today’s society who are indeed publication-hungry focus on various assortments of problems and difficulties in the society; however, they take the problems to be temporal in nature and the solutions they offer cannot be attributed to the same problems years later. An interesting study was conducted at Arizona State University in 2017, and the findings revealed that young people cannot make influential decisions the way it meant to be. According to the study, a problem was posed to two different groups of people in order to evaluate their decision-making practices. While the young people proposed solutions which could not be used in future, the older people’ decision was to be used in future and every aspect of the problems was also considered. Since younger individuals do not consider the farther future, their decisions cannot be influential either.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned reasons into account, I hold the view that young people cannot have an impact on the important decisions of society. Being naïve and inexperienced, and not being providential are among the most conspicuous reasons which have been explained in details.