TPO-33 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.Use spe

Students, parents and educational professionals are questioning whether is more efficient to assign students to work in groups or alone on some academic works. This topic has become controversial issue among them. It is known that different people have a wide variety of responses to this subject based on their cultural, social or even professional background. However, as far as I concern, I believe that although people socialize working in groups, there are cases that work together is a problem.

To begin with I think that when students are assign to work in large groups they usually lose focus in the activities and instead of finish the project they start talking and playing around. At the and they divided the work and each one does their own fragment of the project. On other words a academic activity that was supposed to be done in group is actually is done by each student alone. As consequence, the final works looks like a 'Frankenstein', a lot of content connected without a good transition, suggesting that the job was made separately.

Another noteworthy aspect that should be mentioned is that sometimes some groups may have members that do not contribute to the task. If the project is complicated and demands time to be finished. Those students that really care about the activity will have to work twice as much, in order to deliver the task in time without the help of all members of the group. In addition, students always try to ride this fact to the professor, they avoid complain about a member of the group to not cause any conflict. This attitude misleads the professor about being god or bad put students to work in groups or alone.

To sum up, I think that work in groups are a positive way to socialize students but due the problem that may occur I prefer to work alone. And the reason for that was what I listed before.