TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

Without no doubt, some people would agree that today is more difficult to educate children and it was in the past, regarding the new technology, while others may consider the opposite point of view. As far as I am concerned, I firmly disagree with this statement. I think, today, the education far from being more difficult, is easier, justly, because of the new digital technologies.

First of all, children are exposed to a great amount of information, this fact, rather than going against the education, it stimulates the curiosity of children. Consequently, the interaction with teacher and educator would be more beneficial with students already informed and excited to learn new things. For instant, it was very rare in the past that a child would stop to read a newspaper. Usually the paper format of a newspaper in not attractive for a child, but an interactive website could invite a child to read an article. The information learned from that article, would be brought by the child to the class to discuss it with his or her teacher.

Secondly, teachers and educators are using more and more digital tools as support for their classes. For example, considering that children focus better with digital interactive formats, like websites and video games, teachers are using video games format type websites to resolve mathematics problems and other subject. Thus, children are learning while playing.

Finally, video games and social networking are providing children with the possibility of learning other kind of skills. Furthermore, social networking stimulates and improve the social skill in children that are shy, giving them more confident to interact with others into this type of platforms. On the other hand, some games as Minecraft, a game based in the design of 3D structures as houses and even whole cities, are fantastic tools to improve space and temporal skills. According to research of the University of Toronto, comparing two groups of children from 10 years old, one playing Minecraft and other playing classic games, observed that the first group improved over the second one in mathematics, physic, and analysis skills.