TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.U

Currently, there is a big debate among people who are within the educational field, there are contrasting opinions about the effects of the modern technology on children education. Some teachers believe that children are negatively affected by technology because it takes most of their lifetime, other teachers, instead, think that the modern technology offers the possibility to use new and more effective methods of teaching. Personally, I believe that the internet gives the opportunity to develop new skills and new methods of both teaching and learning, therefore I do not consider that educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, since now children spend most of their time using smartphones and social networks, the education about how to use them in the right way is crucial. The internet is the broadest basin of knowledge that humans have never had, therefore, teachers can use it to teach children things that were not possible in the past. For example, during a history class, they can use books as basic reference, but they can enrich their lessons showing online videos about the specific historical event or find different opinions about what is being taught, in this way they can stimulate a discussion about it, and consequently make their lessons more compelling and interesting. In the past, instead, teachers used only one source, paper books, which it is well known to have just a point of view and only very few photos. I consider this as a limitation in educating children.

Secondly, books are very expensive and take a lot of space; the use of tablets at school gives the opportunity to have all the material in one device. Consequently, the children backpack became lighter and this has reduced most of the problems related to the wrong posture, or carrying heavy weight. My own experience is a compelling example of this when I was at primary school, I remember that every school day I had to bring at least 4 books and all the other school stuff, such as pencil case, dairy, and notebooks, it was very heavy. As result of this, I had a serious problem with my back, and the doctor said that I had to avoid to carrying heavy weights, so my parents had to carry my backpack until my school changed policy and decide to buy tablets. From that moment, we could use tablets at home for homework and leave the heavy paper books in the classroom, from that moment I could go to school by bus as my schoolmates and I felt very confident and keen to use the digital books, much more fun than the paper book.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that as long as children are supervised and educated at the right use of techs, such as smartphones, the internet, and social networking websites, they are very powerful teaching instruments. Modern technology can enrich the lessons and give access at the biggest source of knowledge, this was not possible in the past where the only way to learn was through paper books, therefore, in my opinion, nowadays educate children is easier than it was in the past.