TPO 35 independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, being an actor or a sportsman is considered an ideal job for young people. The jobs offer great salaries as well as entertainment and fame which is the distinctive characteristic of such jobs. But, the issue which may concern many entertainers and athletes is the fact that their lives are always under the spotlight and does not include as much privacy as other jobs have. In this regard, some people are inclined toward the fact that famous entertainers and athletes deserve more privacy while others believe that everyone who chooses a job, whether a worker or an actor, should accept the situations and pros and cons of his job. From my vantage point, it is their right to have more privacy than they do now. In what follows, I will elaborate on my views through two conspicuous reasons.

The first aspect to point out is that due to the fame and popularity that these people have, they always encounter issues and are deprived of having the privacy which other people have. For instance, if an athlete or an entertainer shows unacceptable behavior or do abnormal activities in private, their activities would become viral very soon because of the reporters and paparazzi’s' intrusions. However, it is worth to mention that although they are role models for a large population people and should pay significant attention to their behavior, they are human like us and may make mistakes in social or private lives. But, since they are famous, their mistakes and activities, though private, are judged, discussed and highlighted. For instance, once a famous athlete who was the national football team’s captain in my country had an argument with one of the other athletes. The argument was as ordinary as the arguments we all have with our friends. But, since he was under everyone's attention, his behavior was intensively criticized and even he lost much of his popularity.

Furthermore, it is difficult for them to go out to fulfill a certain task or buy something. In other words, a famous person would probably find it difficult to go to a supermarket to buy his needed stuff, because he would be bombarded with a large number of fans who expect him to give them his signature or take photos with them. Such an activity would become extremely exhausting and boring after they face the same situation over and over and could become time-consuming. Moreover, even if they are not encountered with fans, tolerating the staring look of people is really tough for them.

To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that it is the right of famous entertainers and athletes to have privacy just like other people. Although their jobs involve high salaries, they always face with intrusions which irritate them and make their private lives difficult. It is widely recommended that people leave their great interest when seeing their favorite famous character. I would be very respectful of people if they stop judging and following every single activity these famous people have so that they would experience the same amount of privacy as we have.