TPO 39

- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

It is a highly debated issue whether it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure and successful future in the past, which can be approached in different angles due to its complexity. Deeply deliberating over this issue, although some may agree with it, it is my firm belief that it was easier today. The following discussions reveal my stand and reasoning.

First of all, modern society has a fuller law system than before, which includes a security protocol for companies to follow. If a job is not secure, the government can require employers to pay heavy fines, even sending them to the jail. By this comprehensive system, one can easily identify which job is not dangerous, further leading to a secure future. Moreover, the safety of jobs not only benefits from the law system, but also takes advantage from the convenient communications given by the internet. For instance, an accident that took away dozens of lives happened at a car factory in Taiwan ten years ago. The news revealed that the machines there are old and did not follow the protocol of checking them yearly, which is the reason this accident happened. This news spread quickly between people, soon the government noticed and started to inspect all factories, even passing new laws of more rigorous regulations and penalties. Since then, by watching the news, it is easy for people to know whether a company follows the security rules or not. The law system together with the news system makes finding a safe job much easier.

Besides, the internet also presents knowledge of a job more comprehensively than before, knowing a job before applying makes one easier to identify which career may lead to a wealthy and successful future. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I am a college graduate of mathematics. By surfing the internet, it is not hard for me to identify jobs in my profession that I liked. After putting my target on some specific jobs, it is also convenient to identify famous people and working environments in that industry. Which job gives more salary; which job has less work time; what I might learn in that job, questions once difficult for a freshman to identify become much easier to understand due to the internet. Thanks to the information online, I picked a perfect job for me, worked happily till now and has gained sufficient money to buy a house at a young age.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I deeply believe that it is easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.