TPO 43

- Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

--Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

--Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

--Say nothing

It is a highly debated issue which is the best thing to do while the teacher says something wrong. While some may think that the right timing to correct the mistake is after the class or the meeting, it is my firm belief that interrupting and correcting the mistake right away is the best thing to do. The following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

First of all, the purpose for students to attend classes is to gain knowledge, and correcting the mistake right away can increase the learning efficiency. College students in Taiwan usually do not like to correct the mistakes of professors, this is because they are afraid to be wrong and become a joke in front of classmates. However, my personal experience is a compelling example that correcting mistakes right away is definitely the most efficient way to learn. Since students in my department do not like to answer professors' questions during classes, professors tend to ask few questions. In the course 'Analysis', the professor needed to prove long and complicated theorems, it is not likely that there are no mistakes in every step of proof. One time, finding out that there is a missing step in a proof, I thought maybe I misunderstood something and did not report the mistake right away. After class, I spend a lot of time studying with my classmates to understand that single line of the proof, but we still cannot understand it. Till the next class did we understand that the professor skipped a part of the proof, suggesting that part is trivial. That is when I understand that interrupting professors when they make mistakes is not a shame, since they will not be angry to be correct, and others may have the same question. Most importantly, I can save myself plenty of time trying to understand that mistake.

Besides, students care about having good relationships with teachers and classmates. By raising questions and correcting professors during class, classmates and teachers will remember which student is positive. For instance, after the experience of the 'Analysis' course, I ask questions whenever what the professor said was unclear. Later at the course 'Algebra', the professor likes to make mistakes intensely and see whether students are concentrating. He noticed that I was always the first student to raise a hand and corrected him. Likewise, other classmates thought of me as a hard-working student. Accordingly, many classmates like to ask me problems after class, which increase our bond and eventually become good friends with each other. Furthermore, the professor thought of me as a good student and asked me to join and do research in his lab, even offering me the job of a teaching assistant of the course 'Algebra'.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I believe that interrupting and correcting the mistake right away is the best thing to do.