TPO 41

- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

It is a highly debated issue whether teachers were less appreciated and valued by society nowadays, which can be approached with different angles due to its complexity. Although some people think that it is false, it is my firm belief that this statement is true. I will describe and develop the reasons and explanations in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, teachers were appreciated by society in the past since professional knowledge is obtained at school and taught by teachers. However, there are various ways to learn by one's own today, and thus teachers were less appreciated by society. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Starting to prepare for entering college at a late time and teachers were already reviewing topics in senior year, I cannot follow the classes. I did not give up entering a great college, so I need to learn by myself about all these subjects. I found senior students notes on the internet and some books that are highly recommended, even made a strict schedule to follow. Benefit from the simple context in the reviewing books and the comprehensive notes, it is easy for me to understand and recall the knowledge I learned, and my grades on exams increase rapidly. Eventually, I got the highest grade in class on the college exam and got into an excellent college, without the help of teachers.

Besides, the value of jobs nowadays are mostly indicated by the amount of salaries. Since teachers' salaries did not grow much through the years and there are many high-paid jobs, teachers were also less valued by society present-day. For instance, while asking a child 'What is your dream job?' The answers mostly are doctors, lawyers, entrepreneurs, seldom of them will say teacher. This is because people always want more money, that is, having high salaries. Likewise, when they become parents, they will emphasize the weight of money to their children. Children who have such thoughts care about whether or not they can be wealthy in the future, and thus want to have jobs with high salaries. Apparently, becoming a teacher may not lead to the future they want, thus becoming less valued nowadays.

To sum up, with reasons mentioned above, I believe that teachers are less appreciated and valued by society these days.