TPO 40 Independent

-Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is a highly debated issue whether parents should offer their children money for getting high grades, which can be approached with several angles due to its complexity. Deeply deliberating over this issue, although some people tend to think that actions like this may have some concerns, it is my firm belief that this is a great idea. The following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

First of all, extra money gives extra motivation to children. While parents wish their children to have good grades in school, it is usually hard for parents to mandate children to study, since children often avoid work that needs concentration and want to play all the time. By offering allowance to children when they perform well, they will have more intention to conquer their laziness and thus achieve the wishes of parents. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Since high school courses took from day to night, I often felt tired and did not want to study after class. My parents are worried about the decline of my grades, but they did not know how to make preparing tests more interesting. My mom noticed that I was drawn to a beautiful dress of a famous brand, so she gave me an exciting proposal about buying that dress if I did great on the next exam. As a result of my desire, I worked harder than ever and obtained that dress. As my mom found that this is an effective way to motivate me, that is, giving me some advantage while doing great, she established a system, offering me money to buy one thing that I wanted whenever I got a good grade at an exam. By doing so, I learned well during high school and got into a good college, eventually.

Besides, giving children money allows them to learn how to use money properly at an early age. In modern society, people often find themself hard to save enough money to pursue a house or a car, even harder to get married since they do not have enough money for the wedding and for raising a baby. By giving money to children when they are still young, they will have the opportunity to learn how to keep and use money they earn, therefore having a better financial plan in the future. For instance, the first few times I gain money from high scores of exams, I cannot wait to spend them on what I want such as clothes, shoes, makeup, etc. However, I discovered that the happiness of buying luxuries quickly faded away, the only thing that remained was the pressure given by my empty wallet and my empty stomach. After this, I learned the importance of saving money. By taking plans on what to purchase and determining what is necessary and what is not, I have extra money for emergencies, more importantly, the feeling of safety. That is, I do not need to worry about not having money for the essential. This habit allows me to save money from allowances during high school and from salaries of part-time jobs during college. Accordingly, I paid the tuition of college on my own every semester.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I am convinced that parents should offer their children money for high grades they get in school.