TPO 38

- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

To be a leader, one must know how to organize activities, have strong responsibilities, and know how to communicate with others. Although some people tend to think that leadership comes naturally, by deeply deliberating over this issue, I believe that this statement is false. The following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

First of all, people can learn how to communicate with others through participating in many activities and making friends with lots of people. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Before entering college, although I am a good listener, I was too shy to express myself, misunderstanding always happened between me and my classmates. After I entered college, outstanding people there were not afraid of asking me what I am talking about while they cannot understand me, which gave me a chance to explain myself and to made my point clearer. By doing so, I found out that people did not bother if I say long sentences to express my ideas, and become less afraid to make a full expression. As a result, frequently exchanging ideas with friends made me realize how to have effective communication.

Secondly, people can learn to take responsibilities through experiences. For instance, my brother is pretty lazy and tends to avoid work that needs efforts. The first semester of his undergraduate career, he found out that he had to do many group projects, which needs lots of discussions and work. He tried not to take the responsibility of doing his part of the job, till the finals he found out that his teammates abandoned him and told the professor he did not do a thing. He failed three courses and many people do not like him. Since then, he learned to take responsibilities and do things that he once thought of as troubles, in order not to become the rotten apple that spoiled the barrel.

By contrast, there is a popular opinion that charisma of leaders cannot be taught. Nevertheless, this belief fails to consider the fact that charisma is only an additional characteristic of leaders. If a leader does not have a clear thought on what goals to achieve and how to achieve that goal, that is, the ability of organizing activities, even if people listen to him due to his charisma, purposeless works will lead the team to nowhere. Eventually, the workers will leave this leader and find a one with practical and exciting goals. As a result, it is hard to convince people of this point.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I am convinced that the characteristics of being a leader can be obtained by learning, and thus one can learn to be a leader.