TPO 39, Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody can overlook the fact that in this sophisticated and progressive world, where we live, careers play a considerable role in everyone life. Some people hold the opinion that finding a job with anticipated bright future was easier in the past than today, however, others stand at the other side of this continuum and believe that nowadays it has become more convenient. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with the first group and my reasons to substantiate this point of view are elaborated hereupon

To begin with, society complexity was lower in the past at a high degree, hence it was more likely to predict what would be the future of a career. In other words, the inflation fluctuation was not as severe as today, and the technology advancement was not as fast as these days. As a result, it was less probable that one career becomes completely omitted from the community. For example, all of my ancestors were tailors, and they continue this job for several generations without any threat. However, if they lived in these days conditions, they would face plenty of barriers because of the industrialization and their weakness to compete with high-tech cloth production. Consequently, selecting a job with an apparent future was more doable in the past.

Furthermore, people`s definition of success was very different from now and they would become satisfied easily by the revenues of their job. In other words, their expectations from life were not as high as nowadays. I mean, maybe the quality of their lives was not very persuading but because of the uniformity of society and the lack of high difference between people economic conditions, it was not significantly noticeable. For instance, one of my friends` progenitors were farmers and their descendants inherited that career generation after generation. It is utterly apparent to everybody that this job has not a huge amount of profits. However, they were satisfied and continued for several years. As a result, job satisfaction is very dependent on people expectations.

In a nutshell, according to aforementioned reasons, choosing a job that leads to a bright future was more convenient in the past because not only was the complexity of society lower than now but also the people expectations from life were lower.