TPO 39 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are various approaches to a successful future. Traditionally, people viewed certain types of jobs as a highway to success. However, the types of jobs and the definition of success have gradually changed today due to the rapid development in every aspect. I personally agree that it was easier to identify a successful career in the past than it is at present with the following reasons and examples.

To begin with, as we can observe, many new types of jobs have popped up today in response to the changing world. careers, such as software engineering and data scientist, were what people could not imagine before but become popular in the recent years. With high profession and widespread impact to our society, these jobs are thus regarded as successful careers that attract more and more people devoted into these fields. some outstanding stories of these new careers are also the compelling examples to demonstrate what people consider an excellent career has changed. For instance, if we take a look into the top 500 billionaires of the world, most of them are the owners of tech giants instead of doctors or lawyers, which used to be considered as dream careers. To put it into a simple way, the ideal jobs today should not be limited to certain catalogues anymore.

Moreover, some careers people were eager to pursue for have been fallen behind the times and disappear. For instance, bank teller was one of the most competitive jobs in the past. Only people with professional ability and well-educated background had the opportunities to step into this field. however, the innovation of technology changes the appearance of the financial industry. Auto machines with low costs and high efficiency have replaced human resource in these positions. Consequently, bank tellers inevitably encountered the faith of elimination.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that today it is hardly to identify a secure and successful career as easily as before. this is because the rapidly changing world brings more new types of jobs that were beyond human's imagination before, and because the technology has made a silent revolution in the labor market and redefine a successful career in the past.