Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Paying attention to news and events around the world is the daily routine of many people as a member of the global village. some claim that being aware of things surrounded us is enough for one's living. However, I agree that it is of importance to know about events all over the world as much as possible for the following reasons.

first of all, every event may indirectly affect on our living sometime or somewhere even if the effect on the spot is obscure and it is always better to stay informed. The dense interaction among countries nowaday has connected and formed the world as a big community that the consequence of each event may have influence on other happening elsewhere. For instance, if a war occurred in the middle east, the political and economical turmoil would make the oil export from the middle east countries uncertain and decreasing, leading to the oil supply in short and the global price increasing. people from both private and public entities who notice the event first will be able to analyze and predict the situation and take further actions earlier. In other words, whoever being alert to the international affairs has the most opportunities to take advantage of it.

Second, noticing events in other places helps us to learn from others experience and become better prepared. For example, several years ago, an earthquake happened in Japan and resulted in a tremondous tsunami fiercely attacked the nuclear plant and leaded to a serious damage and nuclear radiation leak, making hundreds and thousands of residents exposed to a high risk circumstance. After the events, people all over the world, who have relied on nuclear power for a long time, start to weigh and balance the nuclear policy and put more efforts on finding alternative energy to ensure the safety and sustainable development of human being. This exactly explains the importance of the events that even if it happens remotely and how we can learn a lesson from it.

To conclude, I agree that everyone should keep attention on local and international news since they both will affect us to some degree. keep informed of the global events can expand our horizons of the reality and be prepared in advance. Moreover, all events and experience can inspire us to consider our daily life and keep progress.