TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

TPO-2

As the proverb goes, honest is the best policy. Although truth is sometimes crucial and embarrassing, it can always simplify complicated situations and benefit a relationship in the long run. therefore, telling the truth is one of the most important thing that people should take into consideration among various relations and interactions. The followings will raise different circumstances to explain how truth enhances a relationship.

First, revealing the truth to whom we care is to help them live toward a more positive way. Some argue that there are several reasons we should tell white lies to our family or friends to encourage or comfort them. however, telling the truth is the only way to help them see and fix the problem. On the other hand, covering up the truth is to push them into the deeper hole that they will never find the way out. For example, my brother had once gained a lot of weight in a short period due to his addiction to fast food. At that time, most of his friends were not willing to alert him since any discussion on his weight seems an offensive and unwelcome topic between them. Instead, I decided to awake him, telling him that his dining habits would be harmful to both his appearance and health. The conflict unavoidably occurred between us in this conversation, but after that he eventually started being aware of the way he lived and modified it promptly. after he controlled his weight successfully and back to the normal, he feels appreciated that I reminded him to live healthier.

Second, always telling the truth makes us trust and be trusted within a group. people usually are used to hide the mistakes they make, being afraid that telling the truth might decrease their reputation. however, once you lie, you have to lie more to make up the mass. Worst of all, others might make a wrong decision based on the fake information given earlier. On the other hand, telling the truth can prevent the problems from getting worse. In addition, since people who are told the truth feel trusted, they will tend to share as well. As a result, a friendly and loyal relation can be formed spontaneously.

In conclusion, the advantages of telling the truth outweigh the disadvantages of it. telling the truth is a way to express our care to whom we love. Also, telling the truth can make people trust each other and build a healthy relationship. therefore, telling the truth is the best option.