TPO 39 - Independent task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Jobs are the most important part of people's lives because those are the main source of life expenses, and individuals spend most of their time working. Some people believe that in the past finding a secure job was easier because there was less competition; others assume otherwise, believing that indentifying a successful career is easier in nowadays. Personally speaking, I support the later group opinion because of two reasons.

First, nowadays, the number of successful jobs are more, which make it easier for people to find one. In the past, people had limited choices of a secure job, and if they were locky enough, they could find one. Furthermore, if people became defeated in one job, they could not change their job, because jobs were very different from each other. While, todays, everyone's major can cover a vast number of different secure job. For example, two years ago, I started working for a company called Kavosh, which was manufacturer of sewer devices. After a while, I realised that I was doing a routine task for a year without gaining a good income or skill. Then, I resigned and searched for a more satisfying job. In this new career, I have better income, and I am struggling with new problems that can increase my knowledge. In sum, the range of secure jobs has increased in nowadays.

Second, todays, people have more better information sources to predict success of a job. Modern people can use the Internet, different books, and experties' opinion to gain data about a career. By refering to this information, people can find out about salary, environment, and the future of a work. Based of this comparison, they can judge that wheather a job is secure or not. While, in the past, the main source of people was their master, and by a small change in the market, they became unemployed.

In conclusion, I consider that identifying a career with a secure, successful job is easire todays because people have more choices and information than they had in the past.