TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Not surprisingly, education has long been the cornerstone of every society. Due to its importance, people harbor different perception for inspiring their children to be successful in their educational terms. The discussion has centered on that whether parents should consider any financial reward for each grade of their children or not. While I tend to refute such a view, I believe it can not be applicable for students from all walks of life.

The first point to support such a view is that financial rewarding might impair children's mindset about the essence of education. From a morality point of view, it is clearly perceived that no matter how small or insignificant the amount of money is, it can cause negative connotation. In fact, it seems that parents offer a bribe to their children for what they have to be done as a responsibility. Needless to say, children might bring up with a wrong understanding of their duties. In a real world, no one would be rewarded for what she/he should be done.

Moreover, paying children for having good grades is not regarded as a long remedy for provoking students' motivations. It should be noted that if any student is not eager to continue his/her education, paying money can not tackle this problem. In fact, if this concept is explained to them that why a student should try hard or otherwise, what the consequence of casual studying can be, there is a little doubt that it can be more efficient. In fact, compelling children to be successful and offering them financial praise might not pave the way for exalting them to achieve what their parents established for them as goals.

Despite these facts, it has been argued that paying them money could be brought some redeeming features like making them prepare for future job labor or pushing them to stand on their own feet as they become more self-reliance. However, it is noteworthy to say that there have been some other strategies to fulfill the parents' intention. In fact, some nonfinancial reward like planning outdoor games or one-day trip are better alternatives for encouraging students to do their best efforts for accomplishing their school assignments.

From what has been discussed, the demerits of children's offering money outnumber its merits in numbers of ways. As it was mentioned, not only can it be misinterpreted the students 'understanding of their first responsibility as a leaner but also it might not address the lack of students' eagerness. Nonetheless, other non-financial drivers can act as a motivation without any negative mentioned aftermaths.