TPO-40 - Independent Writing Task Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally believed that every single action, in order to be enhanced in the future, requires a specific reward by the others. Many parents assume that money can be a powerful incentive for their children to make them perform better at their studies in the future. However, I disagree with this idea and I firmly believe that parents need to let their children to adapt to different conditions, especially in their studies; wether that be acquiring a good mark or a bad mark. In this essay, I will discuss two main reasons that support this point of view that parents should not offer their school-age children money for each high grade they get in school.

As the first point to mention, giving money to children because of their high grades can make them forget about the real reason they are studying for. This condition may cause children to ignore the main purpose of studying which is the concept of "knowing more" and turning it to something called "wanting more". This phenomenon is also approved among the researchers of reinforcement learning filed. They have found evidence of such behavior in both humans and animals. The results show that the more an animal or human is awarded as a result of doing a task, the more it/he tends to look for the award rather than the actual task itself. This is an obvious issue that cannot be ignored in the relationships between parents and their school-aged children.

As the second point to mention, most of the times parents say to their children: "If you don't study, you are not going to get this money." This is a common argument between parents and children. Although this situation may look good at first and shows the actual control of parents on their children, but in some cases, especially when the children has a lot of money, cannot be served as a good incentive for the children to begin studying. As a result, the children end up not studying at all! For instance, when I was 12 years old, I had an argue with my friend that may me sad. Also, I had such an important exam next day that my father was asking me to study more and in that case, he is going to give me more money. However, I easily neglected him. At the end, he didn't have any reasonable option to make me feel more responsible about my next day's exam.

To put it in a nutshell, by offering money to the children, parents make them get used to that condition and it can be hard for them to adapt to new conditions such as sadness and other bad moods. Thus, it can be understood that talking to children to provide them a more vivid picture of their future, and that how studying and getting higher marks can improve that future, is a substantial action that is mostly misconcepted by the parents.