TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, parents play a significant role in their children success. As children grow, their parents put more effort to provide them a better education which is essential for their future accomplishments. I firmly believe that parents are more concerned about their children in today's society as compared with the past. In this essay, I'll provide reasons that support this idea.

The first point I want to make is that entering the university has become more competitive recently. This requires parents to be more concerned about their children preparation to be qualified in university entrance exam. For instance, when I was at high school, my father helped me with understanding the concepts of physics and mathematics. He taught me how to solve problems quicker to prepare for the actual exam.

Another point I want to mention is that nowadays schools are more open to the parents and they provide more information on how their child is performing at their studies. Furthermore, some parents are required to provide a more suitable environment for their children so that they can be more productive while studying. For example, I had a Dutch practicing session every Sunday at home where I was supposed to write assignments for my school. Eventually, My grandmother came to visit me every Sunday. There is a custom that different family members gather together so the grandmother visits her children. Our house was so full of people that I had trouble understanding and doing my homework properly. As a result, my grades were so bad that my teacher asked my parents to hold these family meetings outside the house.

As the final point, since parents spend more money to provide all suitable conditions and educational facilities for their children, they simply expect them to study more. In my country, registration fees for a software engineering major of a mid-class university is about 5000$ per semester. Naturally, this huge amount of money forces the parents to be more concerned about how their children perform in university.

To put it in a nutshell, parents are required to deal with the competitive nature of education as well as higher educational fees and payments. Moreover, the schools are meant to provide feedback of the performance of their children. To make a long story short, parents are more involved in their children's education than before.