TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that today's world complexity poses several changes in humankind' lifestyle. The involvement of parents in children education is of paramount importance for improving children's grades and scores at school. This brings up a controversial question: Is it true that parents do not engage in children's education? Some people are inclined toward the stance that people allocate a great deal of their time for children, whereas others disagree. In my perspective, I assert that parents' times are not allocated to children's learning. The reasons behind this viewpoint are discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first thing that comes to mind is that parents do not care about their children' education. In fact, the parents think that educating people is the responsibility of teachers and they send their children for the sake of learning new things and extending their children' knowledge. When children ask them a question regarding to their education, their response to children is that they can ask it from their teachers. Moreover, some parents currently believe that children could do other things rather than studying. They sometime persuade their children to not to have academic education by stating that having a university degree do not ensure the future career, as children may not able to find a job in the future with obtaining academic education. Therefore, all of aforementioned sentences support a claim that parents do not care about children' education.

The second and important reason that buttress my standpoint in that parent nowadays do not spend enough time with their children. Indeed, people nowadays dedicate most of their time in their career because of gaining more money from their profession. Most people work over-time until the evening. They get up early at the morning every day and go to their workplace and return late at night. Even when individuals come back from their work, they sometime perform their duties at home. Additionally, during the weekends, people dedicate their time for leisure activities such as going to restaurant or watching movie in the cinema and so forth. However, in the past, humankind were entailed more on children education. For instance, I remember, when I was a child, my father helped me in doing homework assignments during a period I was a high school student. Hence, todays' people life do not permit parents to become involved in children's education.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that human-being nowadays do not engage in children's education, because for parents, children's education is not important and because people do not have sufficient time for children. Is it not a good idea that parents spend time with their children in order to assist them to comprehend school materials? Parents consider to do that!