TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With availability of colleges and universities more and more people intending to have knowledge at various and diverse academic disciplines. Some people who have studied mathematics at his bachelor degree, likes to gain his master’s degree at physics science. This bring us an arguable question whether it is a good idea to have broad knowledge or not. As far as I'm concerned, I think that focusing on one particular area is more desirable. The reasons behind this standpoint is discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, specializing in a specific subject is better to final a job in the future. In fact, nowadays, many of companies and factories required from their employees have a specialization in one subject. Also a person who is a candidate to employ in a job position at a firm, should be able to demonstrate a good knowledge in only one subject. By demonstrating an expertise at a particular discipline, people will be able to find a profession, as an employer ask them. For example, if someone want to work in a car manufacturing company as a senior mechanical engineer, s/he required to have particular knowledge merely at mechanical devices and systems, not at other areas such as electronic engineering and so on. Since, there are people who are familiar with many academic subjects such as civil engineering, electronic engineering but do not have a good expertise at any of them, they have difficulty in being recruited at a specific job. So, as you can see, employment activity for subjects with broad knowledge is problematic.

The second reason that support my standpoint to have expertise in one academic subject is that it is easy to study and focus on one area. In fact, when students narrow his to her university disciplines to one subject, they are able to understand and draw a connection between courses at university. For instance, if a student learns theoretical knowledge about a theory or concept such as thermodynamic laws in a course and then take an experimental course related to theoretical classes, s/he could be comprehend and grasp the thermodynamic laws well by performing experiment and comparing with theoretical knowledge, which learn from theoretical class. However, learning many courses that each of them has many formulas and concepts will be difficult task to do and student not only get confused but also they may not able to finish their studies. Therefore, it is easy to concentrate on one subject at university than to learn broad knowledge at different courses at university.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned reasons, I would say that concentrating in one particular subject is more desirable because of finding a career at future better and because of studying easily. What an arduous tasks dealing with different theories at various subjects!