Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Academic education is undeniably a crucial part of human life as our future absolutely depends on it. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether we have to be a specialist on only one subject or widen our knowledge or many subjects. If I were obliged to take one side, I would think that becoming a specialist in one specific subject is much better for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

The first reason corroborating my view is that nowadays, all works need a specialist and there is no need to know everything. Besides, science becomes so broad that is takes a lot of effort to master the subject we are studying. Thus, we do not have enough time to spend it on other subjects. My father's experience is a compelling example of this. When he married, in addition to his work as a civil engineer he had to know how to fix the oven if it is broken or he had to know how to work with the electricity system or he had to fertilize the plants in his garden and cut them if it needed. At that time, it was unusual if a man called for somebody else to come to his home and fix such items that I mentioned. as an example, they had to study how to deal with electricity system in their high school and it did not matter if their major was not related to it. Furthermore, since their knowledge was not enough and they studied a little about it, they could not fix it. My father told me that one of his friends accidentally burned the house as he cut the wrong wire. But now, we only focus on the subjects that are related to our major.

The second rationale why I advocate this point of view lies in the fact that it would raise the job opportunity and the one who does that job will be more professional in it. Let us imagine if people today had to know everything that my father knew as I explained above. Then, we will not have electricity man or gardener. But as the world inclined to have more specialists in every subject we have more wide job opportunity. Besides, they are more professional. For example, a gardener who devoted all of his life in this work knows everything about the specific toxic or fertilizer he had to use on any plants so it would flourish better.

To make a long story short, It is definitely suitable to specialize in one subject as not only will it raise the job opportunity but also today's world does not need people who know about everything in a shallow depth.