TPO 40.

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

One of the most concerns of the parents is their children's education. They want the children get sucession in their coarses with high grades. To do so, parents may try various ways to encourage children. Some people believe one way to stimulate children is to give them money for each high grade which is attained in the schoold. In my way of thinking it is not good idea to offer them money for high marks because not only does it misslead them on the concept of the study, but also it becomes a routine behaviour for them.

The first reason which should be stated here is that offering money will chage the coprehend of study. Children should know that they study for themselves. Poeple increase their knowledge to have a better life and bettter understanding of the surounding world. Also, it helps them to enhance their awareness in a particular object which will lead do their future carear. However, offering money for better study is not a good way because it makes them to study for the reseved money. They will think that the they study for their parents, and the money becomes the purpose of them. In this way they lose the real goal of study, and may lose their motivations because a little money for good mark is not a enough stimulation for study a long time.

The other reason which deserves some words here is that giving money will be a normal behaviour for children. When parents give them money for high scores for a long time, it will be a routine for children, then it will lose its influence as a motivation. After a while, students will not be eager for getting the money which makes a decreas in their study marks. In addition, parents may confront with financial problems, and cannot be able to afford the prise money. By then, the child will not study any more Since they used to give money for study.

To summarize, parents should not allocate money for high grades which are attained by their children in the school. It will change the concept and certaing goal of study in the children's mind, and will become a repitity behaviour after a long time which will lose its value as a stimulator.