TPO 49. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friends are like family members who are selected, and they play an important role in life. Some people think is it better to have a small number of friends for a long period of time while others believe that it is better to make many friends easily. In my way of thinking it is better to have a friendship with a few people for a long time because not only will the friendship be stronger, but also they can match together easier.

The first reason which should be stated here is that through the time the friendship will be sturdy. people are complex creatures whom cannot be known easily. Some people have strange behaviors that need a long period of time to be known. Also, it is not easy to trust all the community members. Many of them may emerge with a friendship appearance while they have deceived many plans to abuse their partner. Therefore, it is not a good idea to start a friendship easily, and the longer the friendship duration, the deeper and stronger the relationship. In addition, old friends usually have various similar memories and experiences like vacations, college classes, gatherings, and so on. These memories will enhance the relationship as well while new friends do not have common enjoyable experiences.

The other point which deserves some words here is that old friends have similar behavior. The people have a flexible personality. Their behavior is affected by the people around them especially friends who have many similarities and are in the same age. So, as much as the friendship take long, the friends will be like each other in their way of thinking and in their behavior. These similarities help them to match better and enjoy being with each other. On the contrary, it will not happen between people whose friendship is not long. Furthermore, if the number of friends is a lot, it will be more difficult for them to match with each other because each individual has a specific personality. Conclusively, the small gather of friends can match easier.

To summarize, it is better to have a small number of friends over a long period of time. It helps them to have a robust relationship and match to each other easier, so they will enjoy being with together.