Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Throughout the history, in all civilized societies, the issue of people's happiness engendered copious controversies among people. Some incline toward the opinion that it is vital for students to make many new friends easily. Some others, however, may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that the ability to preserve your friendships is more essential. As far as I am concerned, the skill that help people maintain their old friends is more important. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point is that people can have deep relationship with their friend. when juveniles meet up with strange and new people they can not understand them well because they do not have information about him. On the other hand, old friend are familiar with each others behaviour. Also they have a same interest. For example, after four years study in university I become friends with my dorm mate and now both of us are trying to continue our education abroad. It is and arduous task to achieve it but we motivate each other every weak and it make us feel confidence.

The second significant reason supporting my idea is that people can trust to their old friend. There is a quote that say old friends are the best friends in the world. When a person meets up with a new person he cannot trust him because he does not know anything about him. On the other hands, an old friend are familiar with each other. Hence, they are trustworthy. For instance, when a person have a problem and he do not want that other people find out about his problem, he can trust to his old friend which are trustworthy and since he is loyal, he is not going to tell his secret to other people. Therefore, he is going to feel supported and happy.

to make a long story short, based on the aforementioned argument, old friends are more crucial that new friends since they know each other profoundly and they are loyal and trustworthy. Consequently, it is highly recommended that, people keep their touch with their old friend which valued a lot. In fact, there are myriad of other reasons, challenging the above statement, which could be mentioned but is not embraced due to the dearth of time.