TPO 41

Throughout the history teachers have played a prominent role in development of societies and flourishing of students. Due to its paramount importance nowadays, there are a lot of discussions about efficiency of teachers. In this regard, and considering their role in education of children, some people believe that teachers should be appreciated more than past, while others opinion is that teachers were better in the past. I am of the opinion that in the past teachers were more appreciated. I will attempt to address most discernible reasons below.

First, let me imply the difficulties of being a teacher in the past in comparison with today. In the past, people had to endure a lot of difficulties to be a teacher, which brought them more respect. But nowadays, it is easy to study in one of the numerous universities and get a certificate to be a teacher. In other words, the more difficulties a person faces to be a teacher, the more respect they could get. My grandfather's experience which was a teacher is compelling example of this. He was born in a small village and studied in the elementary school of village. For continuing the study, he had to abandon the village and live in a dorm in the nearest city to study in a high school. After high school, he left the nearest city and went to another far away city to study in a university. After living and studying almost for ten years far away from family, he came back to village and started to establish the first high school of the village. Now after almost sixty years of his death, people appreciate him because he suffered many difficulties to be a teacher. This experience taught me that teachers in the past had more respect than today.

As the second reason, I want to point out something which is widely accepted. It is now impossible to neglect the effect of internet in the respect that teachers get. Parents have communication with each other and they convey the information about the teachers of their children. So, they know how should a good teacher be? Considering that parents want best for children, if teachers are not the best they would not appreciate them. I witnessed my nephew in the last five years which his parents never were satisfied with teachers. Always they want to change the teacher because they thought that teachers didn't try their best to teach in the schools. This example shows that people knows about characteristics of a best teachers and when a teacher does not have the best traits they do not appreciate him or her

I conclusion, it is for the aforementioned reasons that I have come to believe that teachers in the past were more appreciated because they endured a lot of difficulties and also people could not compare them with best teachers of the time.