TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Educating children is the most important thing in thier childhood and adolescence. A well education can help a student to become more successful and as a result have a better future. But, today technological devices change the way of educating children. In past, teachers were the only source that could help the students but most of the students have access to the net and could learn from net easily. Some people believe that these changes reduced the value of the teachers in the society; others would disagree. I think that teachers were more appreciated in past than nowadays for the following reasons.

First and foremost, technological devices reduced the need for the teachers in order to learn. With advancement of technology, people have access to the internet in almost every where and as a result they could easily find the answers to their quastions through the net so the scignificane of teachers is fading. For instance, l have a nephew who is nine years old. She is really intelligent and she is curious about everything and as she knew that I am a astronomer, she always asked a lot of quastions about the world and other planets from me. As a result, when I am in my sister's home, I spend most of my time answering her questions. Last month, I went to visit them. I was surprised that she did not ask any quastions. So, I asked her if she had anything to ask but she said no. My sister said that they bought her a tablet and she could find all the answers to her quastions from the net. My nephew, explained that she had flu and she could not be present in her classes for a week and by using of some online courses not only she did not missed anything but also she got the best score in the exam too. This experience taught me that nowadays, teachers are not as important as they used to be in past.

Second, teachers like other human beings can make mistake which is not good. When teachers make mistakes, the student would think that their teacher is not really master in the subject of the class and so they cannot rely on her in order to learn because she is not a reliable source. For example, last week, I read in the newspaper that researchers in Germany conducted a research which was started about twenty years ago, in which they compare the importance of teachers in the learning progress of the children. The researchers claimed that in pas when the teachers made mistakes students did not know and as a result they continued their studies based on those wronge informations that they had learned from their teachers. Thus, it was really important to select someone as a teacher. But, today studetns can easily find out when their teachers are wronge. As you can see, when students understand they their teachers make mistake, they lost their trust to their teachers and behave them in different and less appreciated way.

In sum, though some may believe that teachers are great people and teaching is a valuable job in all times; but as you can see teaching is not as important job as it used to be. I really think that schools and universities should find better and more educated teachers and professors in order to avoid distruction the importance of schools and universities.