Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

University is the first social place that most of the students attend. It is really important because it could help the students to find their way. Some people believe that students should be required to attend classes; others would disagree. In my view it is better that university classes to be optional for the following reasons.

First and foremost, some students live in a poor family and they have to work in order to help their family. So if the university classes be compulsory, they lose the opportunity to study and I think it is not fair. Because most of the scientists and successful people are from poor families. For example, I remember when I was in the university, I had a classmate who was one on my best friends. At first he attended all the classes and he really loved to study and he was always the best student of the class. But after about a year when we were sophomore, in most of the classes he was absent. It was not natural so the professors start to figure out what his problem is. And it was awful because we knew that he lost his father and in order to help his family to overcome their financial problem, he has started to work in a market and as his job is fulltime he could not be present in the classes. And because of his problem, the university allowed him to countinue his studies without needing to be present in the classes. So, it is clear that some students cannot attend classes and so it is not good to take away their opportunity form studying by make them to attend classes.

Second, making classes optional cause that students who like to study by themselves and become tired in classes be out. It cause that classes become more efficient and more useful for other students. For instance, in my university as classes where compulsory, there were some students that hated to be in a class because they do not like that lesson or they thought that they could spend their time in a more useful way become frustrated and they started to talk to each other or asked the professor to finish the class sooner which annoyed the student who liked the class. Thus, I think that make the classes optional not only does it create a better environment for students who like to attend be in a class but also for it helps other students to use their time in better way.

In sum, though some may believe that students are really young to think and find their way and they have to be required to attend classes, but as you can see it is not a good decision for all the students. Not only will it bring opportunity for some students to study, but also it help the students who like the classes to have a more efficient class. So I think attending classes should be definitely optional.