TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When thinking about the issue that nowadays teachers are less esteemed and valued by society than they were in the past, different individuals will have different ideas. Some people claim that teachers' prestige is abating since the importance of their work is decreasing. Nowadays, with the development of computer science, we have already entered an information era which we can absorb ample knowledge from Internet, therefore, the status of teachers are depressed. However, from where I stand, we always need teachers to instruct our academic and behavior, so the teachers are still valued and esteemed by society.

First and foremost, nowadays teachers tend to have a higher salary than before. Since the competition get more and more severe in society, more and more parents will pay a large amount of money to ensure that their kids can get well-educated. In this circumstance, the wages of teachers rise drastically, and the reputation and prestige of someone always have a close connection with their income. Thus teachers are esteemed by society. Take my elder brother as an example. My elder brother is a biology teacher in high school, and thanks to his good career performance he earns far more money every year. In this way, he is admired by many of my friends. Teachers always have a considerate salary and enable them to have high prestige.

In addition, teachers are the instructor of many successful people. They give these men plenty of advice to help these people to attain success. And when they share their experience to others, they will always advert that it is their teachers who give them crucial help to overcome hardship and finally achieve their goals. As a result, teachers especially good teachers are valued by the society. For instance, Zhengning Yang is a renowned physicist who had won a Noble prize. Once he came to my university and shared his research career and experience to us. And he said that he performed bad at math in high school which frustrates him a lot. While his math teacher never gave up on him and thanks to his teacher's encourage he did a good job on math and paved a solid way for his future research in physics.

In a nutshell, teachers can not only have a decent salary, but also play a critical instructive role in people's life. So they are more appreciated and valued by society than they were in the past.