TPO 41 - Question 2

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers' value has become the subject of heated debate among the society and governors. Although some people assert that they are not valued enough nowadays, others hold the view that teachers are appreciated much more than before. In my point of view, I firmly disagree with the first perspective. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my conspicuous reasons to support my standpoint.

First of all, I believe that the government support teachers stronger than before by giving extra aids to help them increase their level of living. These days, the government tries to give them important properties such as a big house and outstanding cars to show true respect for them. Not only these but also try to propose extra special holidays to provide a situation for teachers to lose their minds and find their souls. This has enhanced their value among society in a way that almost every student has the dream of becoming a teacher. In other words, people consider this job as an extraordinary situation. Interestingly, every parent in the country has been recommending their children to study hard and become a teacher if they want a better job prospect. Some research conducted by prominent professors also shows that even more than 89 percent of them want to change their job to become a teacher. These show how valuable teachers are currently.

Furthermore, students give their teachers more expensive presents to express the sense of value compared to the past. As teachers try to present online courses for their students that help them to get internationally recognized qualifications in the future and to expand their circle of knowledge, their desire for appreciating their help has become even promoted. For example, in our school, we have skilled professors that help students to further their study in a highly ranked foreign university by giving recommendations and also extra fellowships that cover the cost of their living. These type of support lead to increase teachers level in whole society.

To put all in a nutshell, I strongly believe that teachers are more appreciated by society now than before. The government helps them to increase their level of living and also students appreciate their extra supports. However, we should take this fact into account that they always have to be heroes of society, if we want to see our country at the top.