TPO 42 Independent writing

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the industry, workers play pivotal roles in accomplishing tasks and operations which are necessary for the businesses, constructions, etc. Their work involves tasks which may sometimes repeat over and over and that's the reason their job is considered a demanding career and needs much energy. The controversial question which arises here is whether considering different types of tasks during the day for workers can cause them to feel more satisfied with their job than when they do the similar tasks all day long while others hold exactly the opposite view. From my vantage point, this approach can be beneficial in numerous ways. In what follows, two significant reasons will elucidate my viewpoint

The first aspect to point out is that similar tasks cause workers to feel tired. The work becomes very annoying and repetitive as it continues. They may become extremely exhausted even though they did not have much work. As a result, the workers lose their motivation and become frustrated about their jobs. For instance, my cousin used to work in a factory where he had to label products with special tags. He had to do the same process for almost seven hours a day. Also, he even had to sit at a single place for a long period of time. He would always complain that his job was extremely annoying and tedious since he couldn’t do another task to become less weary. Soon, he changed his job so that he could do a job which doesn't incorporate a single task.

Furthermore, if workers devote all their daily work hours to do similar tasks all day, in addition to getting bored, they may lose their efficiency. Scientifically speaking, every individual's mind becomes inactive when he does the same process for a long time and so do workers. Therefore, even if a worker feels motivated enough to accomplish his job, he won't have the same functionality as when he does the tasks for a limited period of time. This reason has led many organizations to change their strategy about workers’ duties and consider various tasks for workers so that their minds stay active enough to their responsibilities during their working hours. In practice, the process has been proved effective and has caused more productivity in the overall operation of workers.

To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that workers feel more satisfied if they are supposed to do various tasks during their work hours. Although a worker may need some extra training to be able to do a variety of tasks, they would be more favored since they would enjoy more variety in their jobs and have better functionality at work. It is recommended that organizations that commit their workers to do the same task all day change their strategy and consider more items for their workers' duties.