TPO 42- Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It has been highly discussed about happiness from work. Some people believe that workers will gain satisfaction from doing different types of works. While some argue that it is happier for workers to the same work. In my opinion, I think it depends on the context of the work.

Firstly, most of people are unwilling to do the same work everyday because they cannot bear the tediousness from repeating the same tasks mechanically. Workers will be motivated if they have chances to do different tasks and they can get a variety of skills in different domains.

However, the disadvantages of doing different sorts of works should be taken into consideration. If workers are told to switch their tasks from now and then, they will face a big challenge because they have to force themselves to learn plenty of new knowledge in order to meet their boss’s demand. Thus, it will surely bring heavy pressure to the workers, which makes them feel upset and stressful.

Furthermore, doing the same work every day does not mean that the context of work is the same. Also, if a work devote his time to one specific task, he will gradually become a master of that task. For example, an old chief in Japan is called the god of sushi. Since he was ten, he began to learn how to make delicious sushi. And he had kept making sushi for almost 70 years. His desire for pursuing delicious sushi makes him a grand master in this field, and he never feels bored about this, he believe it is an honor to do sushi for his customers. Hence, doing the same work is not boring when a worker can attain happiness and achievement from it.

In conclusion, we have to clarify which reasons lead workers to be happy. How different the type of tasks is unlikely to simply determine how happy workers can be during their workday. If one type of task containing diverse challenges stimulates someone’s motivation, the people would attain likewise pleasure from the work.