TPO 42

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

For years, job had been viewed as a means to live a life but people are taking a fresh look at it. Nowadays people are trying to enjoy their jobs as an inherent part of their lives more than they used to do before. They are trying to diminish exhaustion and boredom of their jobs. Trying to do so, the question is, in which way employees are more satisfied, when they have many different types of tasks to do or when they do similar tasks all day long. The answer can be viewed from different perspectives which are elaborated upon on ensuing paragraphs.

First outlook suggests that when workers have various assignments to do they feel less bored than the time they have to do identical tasks. Human per se is variety seeking. She gets tired when getting stuck in dailiness. Doing routine stuff every day and all day long is not the ideal way of living she wants. Therefore, individuals are seeking for the ways to diversify their tasks in their jobs, so that they feel less fatigued and bored. Jobs that provide different types of tasks to do are more desirable for these people. For the above reasons companies and institutions, these days, are looking for methods to make workplace more enjoyable and increase productivity, and task diversification is one of them.

Unlike the first viewpoint discussed above, the second one indicates that having to do lots of different tasks can reduce worker’s focus on her job. An individual can concentrate more on her tasks if she has fewer to do. She can allocate her time and focus exclusively on the duty she has to fulfill at the moment rather than having to divide her time between several tasks and schedule to do them. On the other hand, multiplicity of tasks, itself, can cause exhaustion. Since every assignment requires a lot of time, energy and attention to be carried out and this can get the employee into trouble and exhaust her if she has lots of various and distinct tasks to do. Therefore, trying to diversify tasks we should inevitably take their effects on each other and also on the employee into account.

All things considered, it can be concluded that despite of its benefits, diversification of tasks in a job can also have negative points. Thus, in my opinion, we need to strike an equilibrium between the quality of the tasks done and their quantity, such that the quality of work is neither sacrificed for the large number of tasks and its disturbance of concentration, nor it is sacrificed for their low number and its negative effects on productivity.