TPO 18

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Since the down of civilization, educational environments have been playing a key role in humans’ lives. In such places students learn not only educational courses but also lessons about life. They are influenced by their teachers and friends, and this is one of the most important aspects of schools. Considering this fact, the question striking to mind is who does have more impact on students, Their teachers or their friends. The answer to this question can be viewed from different perspectives which are elaborated upon on ensuing paragraphs.

First outlook suggests that teachers as the ones who teach so many various lessons to students can have a considerable impact on them. They are reputed to be the forerunners of science and education. For a great many students, they are role models and students set them on pedestal. Teachers can educate students so many courses as well as so many points about life. This way they can illuminate students’ minds and give them a clearer view of life. To exemplify, suppose that a teacher, an influential one, talks about the devastating disadvantages of using drugs with the students, this discussion can probably convince the students to never ever have a try on drugs, specially in case that some of them are prone to addiction. Hence, no one can turn a blind eye on the influence of teachers on students.

Alongside with the first opinion the second one indicates that friends can influence students equally. People of the same age have more points in common with each other than they have with elders or younger ones. Friends of the same age commonly share their secrets with each other, and when facing issues, they often tend to consult with their friends rather than asking for the elders help. Sometimes they may even put more value on their friends’ words than others’. As an illustration, the influence of deviant friends on delinquency cannot be afforded to be taken lightly. Bad friends can have as many negative effects as good ones have positive effects. Therefore, friends impact on students should also be taken into account.

All in all, to choose who influences students more, we should consider all the aspects. And it is incontrovertibly axiomatic that both teachers and friends can have significant impact on students. Consequently, in my opinion, none of the groups can be replaced with the other, but depending on the student, herself, and the way she is influenced by her friends and her teachers one of these groups can play a more effective role in her life. Thus, there doesn’t seem to exist an absolute answer to the aforesaid question.