TPO 42

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

our jobs are one of the most important aspects of our lives, and we spent most of our daily lives doing our so called jobs, doing various things or monotonous tasks. personally, i believe doing distinct types of task are more appealing than doing same thing all day. I feel this way for two reasons, which i will explore in the following essay.

first of all, most people are bored easily and want adventure from life. If our work is doing same thing over and over again, then it makes us stressed, depressed, and even for some case make life meaningless. As a result, it affect our all aspects of lives other than work lives. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. When i was in university, i was one of the most brilliant student. I liked the university environment that everyday was different and every time i met new people. even though my major was physics, i elected many more classes from different disciplines, and i was happy with learning new things from completely different fields. Once i graduated from my university, i hired in an institute as a research assistant. my job was mostly coding, and i felt like i'm not a physicist, but a person who sits in front of computer all day. And also it seemed that my life became miserable, and there was no growth in personal development. Eventually, i was depressed and bored, and found no meaning from life. then one day, i decided to quite my first job and hired in a company that requires employment to various tasks and projects from day to day. From that moment, i have begun to feel my energy and meaning of life again.

Secondly, even though doing one thing all the time makes you become a master of it, it won't make you successful as a person. Human beings are complex animals thanks to their intelligent, and because of these complexity, people need different and ever-changing experiences to make growth in their personality. To be more specific, i have two uncles and both of them are complete opposite of each other for their live attitude. one of those uncles has a job of just doing single thing all day, a security guard, and other uncle works as a journalist. my security guard uncle is one of the most boring and outdated person i've ever met. He is easily angered and has really depressed personality. On other hand, because of ever demanding of knowing many things and requiring different everyday activity and travelling various destination, my journalist uncle has a brilliant person who enjoy doing various things and thinks life as the most wonderful thing.

In conclusion, i strongly believe that most people are satisfied doing different things throughout their working hours. this is because people are bored easily and doing one thing may hinder one's personal growth.